Fundraising, and Other Ways of Getting Stuff

Our quiz night is fast coming up! I’m mega excited, because so far, I haven’t been directly involved with any fundraising activities. Since I joined Choices, we’ve had one town centre collection, while I was at work, which didn’t go with very much of a bang. There were other groups collecting in the town that day, and we were all mistaken for one another, meaning none of us came out as an overall winner.

The quiz, on the other hand, will have an overall winner, and is going to be great fun. Tickets are £5 a head, teams of 6, and it’s from 8pm at Club Kingswood, Sparrow’s Herne, on the 16th April. And we’re going to have a brilliant time.

My family and friends are excited, too- or at least, they tell me they are. I get very excited for them to see a bit more of what I do. I brought my mum to the office once, because she bought some stuff to donate, when we went shopping. She loved it, especially when I answered the phone, and we had to make up a food parcel, and drop it off. She thought it was very exciting and I was terribly clever. Of course, she was right. It is very exciting, doing something that has a positive impact on someone’s life, like providing them with food.

She also tried to hoover the office, with a very beaten up little hoover she found in a cupboard, and nearly succeeding in burning the place down. For some reason, I’ve never yet taken her back.

Recently, I was wandering through Basildon Town Centre with my sister, when we popped into Asda, and walked past a trolley full of food donations, with a sign on it saying ‘Support Your Local Food Bank.’ I prepared myself to be indignant, since the other large local food bank is Trussell Trust, and has Tesco exclusively onside- until I noticed the ten foot board behind it with the Choices logo. Thank you to anyone who reads this and put anything into our collection- it’s always gratefully received.

We’ve also got our training weekend coming up,a follow-on from our successful training taster day in March. It’s in Eastgate again, and it’s a great opportunity we’re providing for current and prospective volunteers to learn a bit about what we do, and pick up some skills along the way.

It’s going to be a busy month for us, and hopefully we’ll be able to keep up the momentum with fundraising, donations and public awareness. With our new volunteers fully trained up, we’re aiming to open our Lottery-Funded Community Kitchen very soon indeed, and after that there’ll be no stopping us from doing good things for the community. Watch this space.

Image

Next week: Our Training Weekend: How It Went

After the rousing success of our Volunteer Taster Training Day, turnout for our weekend was…‘ (I can’t finish this quote because it hasn’t happened yet. Is that cheating? Probably.)

Leave a Reply

